The Greatest Birthday Gift EVER

In my last post, I told you all about my husband and my great news about buying a house! Well, right after I wrote that, we found out the offer on the house got accepted and our future home went in to escrow. After finding out we’d soon be moving out of a 1 bedroom apartment, we decided it was time for us to start thinking about a family. Some people would tell us we’re too young or we need to be married longer before we have a child but we completely disagree. I knew from the moment I fell in love with my husband that I wanted him to be the father of my babies. Although we love spending “us” time with each other, we wanted so badly to see what else life had to offer and we decided to “go with the flow” and try to conceive.
On Mother’s Day weekend, we thought for sure I was pregnant and it would have been a perfect gift for our mothers to know they had a grand baby on the way. But after 2 negative tests, we unfortunately couldn’t give them the good news. So, 2 weeks later, I knew something was up and decided to take another one…and another one…and another one. And guess what?! THEY ALL SAID PREGNANT! I was overjoyed. I couldn’t stop crying and pacing back and fourth waiting for Beau to get home so I could tell him. If you know me, you know there is absolutely not a patient bone in my body (which is why this waiting 9 months to meet my little one is going to be a hassle for my poor husband haha)! I immediately called my mom and stepdad and told them to meet us for lunch. There, I handed them a note that said “grandma & grandpa, I can’t wait to meet you”. My mom went into hysterics. She put her hands over her face and fell into her lap and then couldn’t let go of me. That is one of those moments I wish I could pause forever. Another reason why I am so happy I have this blog– to remember things like that. Then we proceeded to tell the rest of the family. Next it was Beau’s dad, Trent, and sister, Shantel, then we went to see his mom, Kari, who although already has 2 grand babies, seemed as happy as when she knew she was going to be a grandparent for the first time! It was such a beautiful day and something I will tell this baby about forever.
I patiently waited until May 30th (yesterday) for my first appointment with the doctor and what happens? The ultrasound machine was broken. All the day dreaming I had done about what this little pea sized baby was going to look like had been shut down. Until she told me I could see the baby tomorrow! MY BIRTHDAY! It was like it was meant to be. Another day I will always remember- seeing my little baby on my 22nd birthday. I could hardly sleep last night and it was all so worth it when the ultrasound technician said “there’s definitely a little embryo there!”

20130531-164434.jpg

It looks like a little peanut. So tiny, no form, but somehow I feel myself wanting to kiss and hold that little baby. It doesn’t even look like a human, but it’s our child. We made that! And over the next 8 months, I’ll be learning all about patience as I wait anxiously to one day hold my little peanut in my arms. How anyone could feel how I feel and not completely be overwhelmed with joy and love is beyond me. I’m a mommy! My husband is a daddy! We are PARENTS! What more could I ask for??

20130531-164928.jpg

Leave a Reply

